A BotW Anecdote

Ever since I’ve been able to play BotW, I’ve found the Guardians very stress-inducing because of their ability to kill you and your general inability to kill them until later on. Whenever I’ve stumbled upon an area with them, I’ve gotten the hell outta there ASAP. Unfortunately, there have been times where I haven’t been able to do so.

Like the first time I went to the Akkala Ancient Tech Lab.

And at this point, I think we should have a Read More here because of “spoilers”.

I was randomly exploring, you know, like you do. At some point, I found out that the lab was right by the stable I was at, so I decided to pay a visit. I thought this would be a quick and easy journey.

Imagine my surprise when suddenly GUARDIAN. AIMING RIGHT AT ME. FROM OUT OF NOWHERE.

I quickly scrambled to the nearby cliff, hoping it would offer me shelter. I was right. And so I began to formulate a plan.

I was out of stamina-restoring food (as usual) and the cliff was too high to climb up without it. There was no other easy way up to the lab. I was going to have to face the Guardian.

I did so and promptly got killed.

I would also like to take the opportunity to point out that the music that plays when you’re near a Guardian is very atmospheric and appropriate. It truly gives you a sense of when you need to RUN FOR YOUR LIFE.

I eventually made it to the lab…only to discover that the travel spot wasn’t working because I NEEDED TO GET ANOTHER FREAKING FLAME.

Dammit.

Given that I had no idea where the flame could be, I then decided to save the restoration of the Akkala Ancient Tech Lab for another day.

This day turned out to be last night.

For some reason, I thought it’d be a good idea to explore a vast stretch of empty space on my map. Maybe because I’d obviously forgotten something, I don’t know. I found the Spring of Power, a memory, and the location of another shrine, but that’s unimportant.

At one point, there was a thunderstorm. I do not like thunderstorms in BotW because of an unfortunate incident that ended with me getting zapped and dying despite NOT WEARING ANYTHING METAL WHATSOEVER, so I generally try to avoid them. There wasn’t an activated shrine near where I was, though, and I didn’t really want to trek all the way back. So I found some shelter (read: an old wall with something vaguely resembling a roof) and waited.

And waited.

And waited…

Finally, after about three in-game hours, I could get a move on. And lo and behold, there was the flame right behind me. Except…I didn’t have any wooden weapons on hand, I didn’t see a torch, and I wasn’t near anywhere that could possibly have a torch.

Shit.

After much searching, I managed to find…a tree branch. Since there were about eleventy million places to light the flame, I managed to get it decently far away. Until I was headed RIGHT for another spot and “Your Tree Branch just broke!” THANKS, GAME.

There was an enemy camp nearby, though. I could use the clubs and spears they all had.

I thus spent the next several minutes running around, lighting whatever I could find, hoping that my makeshift torch would not burn out just as I got to the next lantern. There were a lot fewer wooden weapons than I had thought there’d be, so I had to be extra cautious. I also spent a lot of time going to light unnecessary lanterns because it pained me to leave them unlit.

And then I got to that point. The point I had been dreading. The Guardian.

I had discussed this general sidequest with Katie, and she had helpfully informed me that the Guardian was completely unavoidable. I did some recon first, frantically trying to find a nearby lantern so I could easily get my flame back if I were killed. I did not find a lantern.

However, I remembered something very important about Guardians. If you shot them with an arrow from a good enough bow, they would die. Eventually.

I had a Diamond Circlet and a lot of arrows, so I decided to test this theory out.

It took some food and many arrows, but eventually, I finally managed to kill my very first Guardian. I claimed a bunch of ancient junk as my prize.

Feeling excited, I quickly ran to the nearest lantern, relit my spear, and continued up the short distance to the lab…

Only for there to be another thunderstorm and for my flame to go out RIGHT before I got to the next lantern.

Shit.

I spent the next four in-game hours in the lab, waiting for the damn lightning to finish lightning-ing. Funnily enough, I discovered a torch propped up against one of the walls.

I eventually did manage to relight the furnace, but that didn’t matter. I had finally come to the realization that I could kill actual Guardians. I immediately traveled to the ruins on the Great Plateau – the one other place I could think of with stationary Guardians – and started whaling on them, too.

I felt powerful.

Also, it was a good way to try to get ancient parts for Cherry (not the Line Play mascot), who was demanding outrageous amounts for measly arrows.

Maybe next time, though, I’ll think before throwing all my wooden weapons away.

One thought on “A BotW Anecdote

  1. Pingback: Another Update (and Venting) | (Ab)Normal Octopus

Got something to say?

